Moddy's Life

Paradise is not lost

  • Meta

  • TEMP

    Subscribe to our mailing list

    * indicates required
    Email Address *
    Ukitopia Connections
    • I want to know what's happening - Gigs, shows, workshops etc.
    • I'd like to help - Volunteer opportunities
    • I'm an artist - I'd like to share my music, visual, dance, writing (or anything else)

Yet another year passed by

Posted by moddyfire on September 17, 2009

I could say that life got into some routine: I work, play, eat and sleep, not necessarily in that order; we visit friends and have short walks to the village; Sequoia is getting better in riding her bike; Ela studies a lot. Basically, nothing happens. I like it, however. Relaxing, and makes me feel less like a hippy.

The garden is growing: I water it now every day, since it hasn’t rained in two months, except for a few drops here and there. We planted a lemon myrtle and raspberry and some flowers, and the lemon tree is finally catching up. We think of more renovations: replacing the floors; building a deck; insulating. I make bread once a week, and nice puddings even more. The puddings got us local fame, and guests expect something amazing in the end. I find it to be cheating – it is stupidly simple.

My knee feels better. Not totally healed, but the main pain is gone. I went to some bike rides and I feel good about it. I also play the flute a lot, though there is not much improvement, and I try not to be too frustrated about it. I also went to a local life drawing class – actually Ela went, and after she came home with beautiful pictures I wanted to try it too.  The class is indeed very local. The teacher is one of our friends, and the models are the students, who take turn doing so. This week we went down to the local stream; the model set on a rock in the middle and I tried to make something… I still feel hopeless, but the teacher is encouraging. The only problem is that since we don’t have a babysitter, so we can’t both go. We’ll figure something out, I hope.

We also got into some politcal activity. Ela went for a few days to Canberra to demonstrate against a new federal law which would basically outlaw home births – she drove all the way in our van with a two-year-old kid and his pregnant mother (who is also the drawing-class teacher).  You can read of her adventures here.

While she was away, we went to another demonstration -not that we intended to, but we went for a bike ride and found many people in the village protesting against the Repco Rally which had just finished. The Rally was much opposed in our area, but the city people liked it – well, it didn’t pass through their houses! – and all environmental groups are stronlgy against it. The Rally passed through protected zones, 300km/h cars throwing gravel that kills all animals around (including a few endangered species.) Anyway, the protest didn’t work, but since they plan one every couple of years, we still protested.

It was very simple: we stood next to the road, waiting for the cars to pass on their to the trophy ceremony and holding flags and banners. There were loads of police, stopping us from standing on the road and from crossing the street. At one stage Sequoia was on the other side of the road, and I thought I heard her crying. I ran to the pedestrian crossing, and tried to cross. Police held me; I shouted at them that my baby is crying, but they wouldn’t let me pass. I was so pissed off.

In the middle of all this I had my birthday. Not a big celebration – just a few friends came over and we went dancing in the hall. I’m beginning my fourtieth year, and I have no idea how I got so far.

In a few weeks I take Sequoia to Israel for three weeks. The longest time she ever spent without her mama. I’m really looking forward to it. In December we go to the world rainbow gathering in New Zealand – we are not sure when exactly we go, since Ela wants to travel a little there, but I, as you see, like to be at home and enjoy Uki life.

Love, Moddy.

Pudding:

60gr butter, melted. (we melt in the oven while we prepare the other ingredients and the oven heats up )

1 cup self-raising flour (we use regular flour – organic wholemeal  – with baking powder. Spelt flour works, too)

1/2 -3/4 cup sugar (some times I soak dates and chop them, instead, so I get sugar-free pudding)

a pinch of salt; a dash of vanilla.

flavouring:  e.g. two tbsp of cacao powder, or shreded coconut; or chopped fruit, or whatever.

1/2 cup milk (a used orange juice once)

— all this mix together.

Now: sprinkle 2 tbsp on sugar on top, and some more flavourings (coffee, cacao, nuts, …)

And pour one cup of boiling water on top.

Put in the oven 180 for 30-40 min. It should be quite moist in the end.

Leave a comment